Top Ten Films

For my hundredth blog post, I want to do something that will give more insight into my tastes in film and so here are my top ten favorite films of all time. As a growing cinephile, this list is sure to change as I watch more films and discover new works. If I were to say that there’s a certain type of film I’m more inclined to like, its films that deal with film culture, whether the films are about making films, watching films, the directors themselves, etc. Suffice to say, however, not all films on this list will fall under that category. Other films are among my favorites simply, because I enjoyed them that much. One last note is that I’ll only include 1 film per director, because I think a varied taste is important in increasing your understanding of cinema. Without further ado then, here’s my top ten favorite films of all time.

The Beaches of Agnes (2008, Agnes Varda)
Contempt (1963, Jean-Luc Godard)
Sans Soleil (1983, Chris Marker)
Three Resurrected Drunkards (1968, Nagisa Oshima)
Meditation on Violence (1948, Maya Deren)
The Movie Orgy (1968, Joe Dante)
Beau Travail (1999, Claire Denis)
Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters (1985, Paul Schrader)
Lost in Translation (2003, Sofia Coppola)
Goodbye Dragon Inn (2003, Tsai-Ming-liang)

Leave a Reply

